A Little Bit of Chatter

Who would have guessed that a little bit of “bababa-ing” or “yayaya-ing” could make me feel more connected to you?  At the end of last week you learned these new sounds and you haven’t stopped since.  It seemed so sudden, out of no where you began to chatter with us, telling these grand stories!  I was and still am so, so ecstatic!!

I did not expect to feel this way.  It seems so simple, the ability to make these sounds.  Yet it took you a little while and with a lot of mommy and daddy sitting around mimicking the sounds, exaggerating our mouth movements, over and over:

“baaa…. BA.. B…A”

…you picked it up.  I couldn’t be happier.  This is beyond the grunting and screaming, it is a whole new way for you to communicate.  And I love every consonant you share.  I am so proud, I am so grateful, I am relieved!

Thank you for teaching me a new appreciation for speech and sound.  And thank you for granting me this opportunity to feel as happy as I am now.

One thought on “A Little Bit of Chatter

Leave a comment